Here’s to you Dad.

I wish I had a time machine
To take a trip to my past.
To see my life the way it was
All the things that did not last.

I could stop my heart from hurting
By seeing the person I miss most.
With the sound of his voice and the look in his eyes
He would no longer be a ghost.

I’d get to hear his laugh again
And feel his warm embrace.
Would be so nice to hear his voice
And the look upon his face.

I’d never want my trip to end
I’d never want to go.
Spending time with dad again,
I’d make the time go slow.

I wish I had a time machine
Even if for a day.
I’s get to see who I miss most
And say all I need to say.

I love you dad.
I wish you were here.
Nine years is far too long
And I’ve shed too many a tear.

One comment on “Here’s to you Dad.

Leave a Reply

