What if? Ha! I’m thinking what now.

Life is full of what ifs. What if I don’t make the team? What if my hair looks horrible today? What if he doesn’t like me? What if she doesn’t give me the answer I’m looking for? There are so many what if questions out there, but only one that I believe we should really be asking ourselves. What if we take all of our what ifs, put them in a shoe box, shove them under the bed, and forget all about them?

We don’t have a lot of time on this planet and I don’t think we should spend it constantly asking ourselves what if. We could focus not on the what ifs, but instead on the what nows. Like, what do I do now, instead of what could I have done if. You’ll never know what could have happened IF you would have done something a certain way instead of the way you chose. Your mind would go through millions of different outcomes and you’d always find yourself wondering if things would have turned out better or worse if you had made one simple, little change.

Well, I’m done with the what ifs. I’m tired of trying to figure out what life would be life if things had turned out differently. Before I self-published my book, I constantly asked myself “What if I fail at this? What if no one likes what I wrote? What if I get a million bad reviews?” I don’t need to worry about that crap and I’m not going to be one of those people who dwells on stuff like that.

Who cares what could have happened. The only thing that truly matters is what happens now. If we spent more time on that, we’d have no room left to wonder what if.

Leave a Reply

