Blue Bantlee: My Very First Writing Passion

When I was seventeen, I worked at this farm store here in my home town. It was part time and I worked in the automotive department, which I used to hate, but with the job I have now I’m still in that area, selling tires to semi drivers and all that. But, while working the evenings, wandering up and down the aisles trying to find something to do or a customer to assist, I managed to come up with my very first novel idea that I was insanely passionate about at the time. I spent so many hours, staying up way past midnight so I could cram in as much writing as I could before I needed to get some sleep for school the next day. I came up with the idea for this book (which is going to be a series when I’m finished with it) while working one night.

The more I think about how I came up with the idea, the more I smile at how random it was. I remember walking down one of the aisles, facing some of the objects and there was something that I was moving that was the color blue and I kept thinking, “How weird it would be to have Blue for a name.” Well, with that I created my first character that I absolutely fell in love with. Her name was Blue Bantlee, which of course is a nickname. Her real name is Adrienne, but she has the brightest blue eyes the world has ever seen which is why her “father” always called her Blue. There is a reason why there are quotation marks around the word father, but I’d rather not give a lot of it away. I will say that she doens’t have the best of lives anymore. She lives in a war torn country that has been separated by a giant wall that runs from the northern border down to the southern. It’s meant to keep the rebels in the Wastelands away from the perfect people who live in the fancy cities on the other side of the wall.

Just thinking about this again and I’m feeling so giddy about working on the project. It was my masterpiece when I was writing it throughout my senior year of high school and all through college. (In case you’re wondering, I graduated college about five years ago.)

So, with the sequal to The Human Race nearing its release date, I’ve been thinking about Blue again and how I am going to blow the dust off and get back to work. It was my first book I was more than passionate and obsessed about. My first book that I got to 120,000 words before I considered the first draft finished and also the first book I tried seeking a literary agent for. My plan is to revisit this passion of mine when I’m done writing The Human Race trilogy and try searching for an agent again for the Blue Bantlee series. I’ve already opened the file back up and gave it a much more appealing title: Into the Wastelands: A Blue Bantlee Adventure. I’m not sure how many book there will be with this series for I have a lot planned for her. I’m sad to be nearing the end of my zombie/vampire trilogy, but I’m more than excited to get back to work on my first attempt at writing a novel.

I hope there are others out there, much like myself, who pour their heart and soul into whatever their passion is. We cannot give up on what makes us happy. We can set it aside for a little while, like I did with Blue Bantlee, but we’ll find that day when we need to get back to it, with a smile on our face, and keep working for what we believe in.

One comment on “Blue Bantlee: My Very First Writing Passion

Leave a Reply

