Pirates of Hardwood

Chapter 25

Alissa waltzed over to Sam and stood directly in front of her. She stared into the girl’s eyes, glancing at the similarities between the two of them. They were the same height, had the same hair and skin color. They even had the same twitch in their upper lips whenever they got nervous.

Her eyes moved back and forth between Sam and Flint and she instantly knew why he was so attracted to the girl that looked so much like his lover. Alissa could even see why Darrick was so in love with Sam as well and her twisted mind came up with an idea to settle things for both of them.

She passed Sam a snide smile, then turned around and walked toward Darrick, then said, “You want me to let her go?”
“Yes, that’s all that I want.” Darrick replied.

Her smile grew wider as she spoke, “Then I have a proposition for you. I can see that you and my Flint want the same thing and I believe there is only one way to settle it.”

“What are you talking about?” Flint asked, pushing himself through the crowd to approach Alissa.

“You want that girl,” Alissa said to Flint, then motioned to Darrick, “he wants that girl, maybe the two of you should fight for her. If you win, my dear Flint, I will leave and you will never see me again. You can kill the boy all you want and take your prize.”

“And if I lose?” Flint asked.

“Then the boy shall have his love again and I get to watch him do the one thing I never could do to you. He will get to kill you and I will take your ship and let it sink to the deepest parts of the ocean with you and your crew tied to the mast.” Alissa spoke firmly.

Flint directed his attention to Sam for a short moment. He noticed that her gaze was more focused on Darrick than anything else. Her eyes beckoned for that boy to save her and she wanted nothing to do with the captain.

“Alissa,” Flint called out and she turned her eyes to him, “all I have to do is kill that boy and you will leave me with Sam and I will never have to see you again?”

She nodded, “That’s right.”

He smiled and turned his demented glare to Darrick and said, “Very well, bring me a sword.”

Leave a Reply

